NPP National Executive Council Announces Final Candidates for Parliamentary Primaries

The National Executive Council (NEC) of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has officially disclosed the list of final aspiring candidates approved to participate in the party’s upcoming parliamentary primaries. The announcement came following a comprehensive report by the National Parliamentary Appeals Committee (NPAC) and the National Parliamentary Vetting Committee (NPVC) regarding the eligibility of aspirants for the parliamentary elections.

The crucial meeting, held on Wednesday, January 17, at the Alisa Hotel in Accra, involved key party figures, including the flagbearer, Vice President Dr Mahamudu Bawumia, Chairman Stephen Ayesu Ntim, former Chairman Freddie Blay, Chief of Staff Frema Osei Opare, and former General Secretary John Boadu, among others.

During the meeting, modalities for organizing and executing the parliamentary elections, scheduled for January 27, were discussed and formulated. In an official press statement released by the party’s General Secretary, Justin Kodua Frimpong, on Wednesday, NEC declared the final list of aspirants eligible to compete in the parliamentary primaries.

NEC underscored that the decision was reached after careful consideration and extensive discussions based on the reports submitted by NPVC and NPAC. Initially, around 400 individuals obtained forms to participate in the NPP Parliamentary race, with 376 undergoing the vetting process.

Following NEC’s deliberations, it was revealed that 17 aspiring candidates were disqualified from participating in the parliamentary primaries scheduled for January 27. Additionally, 326 candidates qualified for the primaries, three aspirants voluntarily withdrew from the race, 29 individuals will go unopposed, and one aspirant’s application is currently undergoing a court process.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top