Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala Triumph at CAF Awards 2023

Nigeria’s Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala claimed top honors at the CAF Awards 2023 held in Marrakech, Morocco, on Monday night, December 11, 2023.

Osimhen, the prolific Nigerian striker, secured the CAF African Player of the Year, marking his first win in this category. Oshoala, his compatriot, clinched her record sixth CAF African Women’s Player of the Year award.

Osimhen faced tough competition from Moroccan full-back Achraf Hakimi and Egyptian striker Mohammed Salah. Meanwhile, Oshoala’s remarkable season included leading Barcelona to Champions League triumph, finishing as the club’s top scorer with 27 goals across all competitions.

In other categories, Morocco’s Walid Regragui earned recognition as CAF’s Best Coach of the Year in the Men’s category for guiding the Atlas Lions to a historic World Cup semi-final run in Qatar. Desiree Ellis of South Africa received the Best Coach award in the women’s category, marking her fourth consecutive win since 2018 for her outstanding work with Banyana Banyana.

Player of the Year award accepted by Victor Osimhen of Nigeria during the 2023 CAF Awards held in Marrakech, Morocco on 11 December 2023©Nour Aknajja/BackpagePix.

Percy Tau from South Africa and Al Ahly secured the CAF InterClub Player of the Year. The CAF Young Player of the Year award went to Senegal’s Lamine Camara and Morocco’s Nesryne El Chad in the Men’s and Women’s categories, respectively.

Morocco won the Men’s National Team award, attributed to their performance at the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022, while Nigeria claimed the Women’s National Team of the Year award.

Egyptian giants Al Ahly and South African side Mamelodi Sundowns were named Male Club of the Year and Female Club of the Year, respectively.

South Africa dominated the continent’s Best XI players in the Women’s Category, while two members of Morocco’s World Cup semi-final team featured in the male version.

The winners were determined through a voting process involving a panel comprising the CAF Technical Committee, Head Coaches, National Team captains, and media professionals.

Full List of Award Winners:

  • Player of the Year (Men): Victor Osimhen (Nigeria, Napoli)
  • Player of the Year (Women): Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)
  • Interclub Player of the Year (Men): Percy Tau (South Africa, Al Ahly)
  • Interclub Player of the Year (Women): Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)
  • Coach of the Year (Men): Walid Regragui (Morocco)
  • Coach of the Year (Women): Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
  • Goalkeeper of the Year (Men): Yassine Bounou (Morocco, Al Hilal)
  • Goalkeeper of the Year (Women): Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)
  • Young Player of the Year (Men): Lamine Camara (Senegal, Metz)
  • Young Player of the Year (Women): Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille)
  • National Team of the Year (Men): Morocco
  • National Team of the Year (Women): Nigeria
  • Club of the Year (Men): Al Ahly (Egypt)
  • Club of the Year (Women): Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)
  • Men’s Africa XI (As compiled by FIFPRO Africa)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top