President Akufo-Addo Nominates Three Justices for Supreme Court Vacancies

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has nominated three justices of the Court of Appeal, namely Henry Anthony Kwofie, Yaw Asare Darko, and Richard Adjei-Frimpong, to fill the vacancies resulting from the mandatory retirement of three former justices on the Supreme Court bench—former Chief Justice Justice Kwasi Anin Yeboah, Justice Nene Abayateye Ofoe Amegatcher, and Justice Jones Victor Mawulorm Dotse.

The President’s letter, delivered to the Speaker of Parliament, outlined the necessity to appoint new justices to maintain the Supreme Court’s full complement.

In accordance with the advice received from the Judicial Council in July 2023 and following the constitutional mandate outlined in article 144(2), the President has submitted the nominees’ names and their curriculum vitae for Parliament’s approval.

The nominees will undergo vetting by Parliament to determine their suitability for appointment to the Supreme Court bench. This nomination process is essential for ensuring the continued effectiveness and functionality of the nation’s highest court.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top