Opposition MPs Stage Walkout in Parliament in Support of Colleagues’ Trials

The Minority in Parliament has chosen to boycott today’s parliamentary proceedings on Thursday, July 6, as a display of solidarity with their leader, Dr. Cassiel Ato Forson, and Assin North MP James Gyakye Quayson, who are currently facing separate trials. The caucus expressed their unwavering support for their colleagues, emphasizing that their trials are unjust.

In a press statement issued by Governs Kwame Agboza, the Chief Whip of the NDC MPs, the caucus reiterated their commitment to abstaining from parliamentary sittings whenever the cases of Dr. Cassiel Ato Forson and James Gyakye Quayson are being heard.

“The NDC Minority in Parliament has boycotted today’s sitting to enable Members accompany and solidarize with two members of our Caucus, namely the Minority Leader, Hon. Dr. Cassiel Ato Forson, and MP for Assin North, Hon. James Gyakye Quayson.

“The two are due to appear in court this morning in their respective ongoing prosecutions by the Attorney-General and the NPP Government. 

“The Minority stands united with our colleagues, and as such will not be able to honour the business of the house today.”

They added that any member that will be prosecuted will be entitled to same support. 

“This is the beginning of a series of actions that the Caucus will be embarking on to end the ongoing persecution ofthe Minority Leader himself, hte Hon. James Gyakye Quayson and the Hon. Collins Dauda.”

The statement concluded that, “we wish ot reiterate the point that amidst persecution, cooperation wil suffer.”

About the respective cases

Dr Ato Forson is currently facing a criminal case related to an alleged financial loss of €2.37 million to the state. The case revolves around a deal to purchase 200 ambulances between 2014 and 2016.

Whereas, James Gyakye Quayson is undergoing trial at the High Court in Accra for charges of forgery and perjury.

These charges are in connection to alleged offences during the lead-up to the 2020 Assin North parliamentary election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top