NPP to Conduct Vetting Process for Presidential Aspirants in July, Aiming to Shortlist Five Candidates

The selection process to determine suitability for leadership ahead of super delegates’ congress

The New Patriotic Party (NPP), currently in power, has announced plans to conduct a vetting process in July for the 10 presidential aspirants. The objective is to trim down the number of candidates to five ahead of the upcoming super delegates’ congress in August.

The vetting process will play a crucial role in determining the aspirants’ suitability to lead the NPP in the 2024 presidential elections. All 10 candidates, except for Nana Poku, the former Transport Director at the Jubilee House, successfully filed their nominations.

Evans Nimako, the Director of Elections at the NPP, emphasized that the process leading up to the delegates’ congress in November will be fair and transparent. The vetting of presidential hopefuls is scheduled to take place from the 3rd to the 6th of next month. Following the vetting process, the party will decide whether a special Electoral College will be required.

If five candidates are recommended for the contest, there will be no need for a special Electoral College. However, if more than five candidates are recommended by the vetting committee, a special Electoral College will convene on August 26, 2023. Once the number of candidates is further reduced to five, the general primaries will be held on November 4.

Mr. Nimako further explained that if none of the candidates secures more than 50% plus one in the general primaries, a run-off will be held on November 11, 2023.

The 10 candidates who will undergo the vetting process include the current Vice President, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia; former Energy Minister, Boakye Agyarko; former NPP General Secretary, Kwabena Agyapong; economist and two-time NPP presidential aspirant, Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku; former MP for Mampong, Addai Nimo; former Minister of Trade and Industry, Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen; former Agric Minister, Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto; and sitting MP for Assin-Central, Kennedy Agyapong.

Read also: NPP Announces Revised Timetable for Electing Presidential Candidate

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top